Disability Services

What is Disability Services? In compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, and with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), Baker College recognizes that qualified students who have been diagnosed or identified as having a learning, physical, or emotional disability are entitled to reasonable accommodations. Baker College is committed to making every effort to providing reasonable accommodations. The Disability Services Coordinator (DSC) and the student will work together to ensure appropriate accommodations.

To learn more about Disability Services, click on the links below for procedures, guidelines for required documentation, and the formal request form. To officially identify yourself as a student in need of services, contact the Disability Services Coordinator on your campus.

Forms

Adobe Acrobat Reader is required to view these documents, download at www.adobe.com.

Guidelines for Documentation

* This document will be posted as soon as possible. Please contact your campus Disability Services Coordinator for immediate assistance.

Information provided to DSC is confidential documentation and evaluation information will not be released without the signed consent of the student.

Disability Services Coordinators Contact Information

Campus Name Phone Email

Allen Park

Lisa Green

313-425-3708

lisa.green@baker.edu

Auburn Hills

Dave Slade

248-276-4584

dave.slade@baker.edu

Cadillac

Cindy Deemer

231-876-3109

cindy.deemer@baker.edu

Cass City

Karen Easterling

989-872-1129

karen.easterling@baker.edu

Center for Graduate Studies/Online

Dawn Prueter

810-766-4021

dawn.prueter@baker.edu

Clinton Township

Tara Shepard

568-790-9716

tara.shepard@baker.edu

Flint

Nancy Daily

810-766-4137

nancy.daily@baker.edu

Jackson/Coldwater

Josephine Hones

517-841-4523

josephine.hones@baker.edu

Muskegon

Chris Bultema

231-777-5237

chris.bultema@baker.edu

Owosso

Carol Boyer

989-729-3362

carol.boyer@baker.edu

Port Huron

Colleen Kaltz

810-989-2383

colleen.kaltz@baker.edu

Disability Services FAQ

Q. Do I have to inform a postsecondary school that I have a disability?

A. No. However, if you want the school to provide an accommodation, you must identify yourself as having a disability.

Q. If I feel an accommodation is necessary, when should I request it?

A. Although you may request accommodations at any time, you should make your request as early as possible. Some accommodations may take more time to provide than others. You should request your accommodations as soon as possible to ensure that we have enough time to review your request and provide an appropriate accommodation.

Q. Do I have to prove that I have a disability to receive accommodations?

A. Yes. You are required to provide relevant comprehensive documentation that without the services you would not have equal access.

Q. Will whatever was done in high school be honored in higher education?

A. Not in all cases since colleges and universities are not required to substantially alter courses or degree requirements. Every student enrolled at Baker College must meet all program standards, which include academic, technical, and behavioral standards.

Q. Are individualized education programs (IEP) appropriate documentation at the college level?

A. The IEP is a written plan for a student in the high school setting. Although it may be helpful, in most cases, it is not sufficient documentation for a postsecondary institution.

Q. If a new evaluation is needed who pays for it?

A. Neither your high school nor your postsecondary school is required to conduct or pay for a new evaluation to document your disability and need for accommodations.

Q. Once Baker College has received the necessary documentation, what should I expect?

A. You can then expect us to work with you in an interactive process to allow equal access.

 Special Needs Services

Special Needs Services